Faculty and Staff - Department of History - Colgate University Skip Navigation

Faculty and Staff - History

Our faculty and staff are enthusiastic and accessible. Please reach out with any questions or interests you have in the history department!
deptphotoF17_opt
Back Row L to R: Tsega Etefa, Graham Hodges, Robert Nemes, Raymond Douglas, Andrew Rotter, Xan Karn, Jill Harsin, Monica Mercado, Brian Moore. Front Row L to R: Antonio Barrera, Heather Roller, Dan Bouk, Alan Cooper.
Nemes

Robert Nemes
Chair, Department of History
Professor of History

-Modern Central and East European history, urban history, nationalism, and commodities

313 Alumni Hall
P: 315-228-7078
rnemes@colgate.edu
Fall 2018: HIST 102A
F18 Office Hours: MTW 1:30-3pm, or by appointment 

Conway
Erin Conway
Department Administrative Assistant
  • History pre-registration
  • Coordination of department events
  • Coordination of daily operations of the department

330 Alumni Hall
P: 315-228-7511
econway@colgate.edu
history@colgate.edu
Hours: M-F 8:30am-4:30pm, Lunch 12-12:30pm
Pete-Banner-Haley
Pete Banner-Haley

Professor of History and Africana & Latin American Studies

  • African American history
  • 20th century US history
  • 19th- and 20th-century social and cultural history

320 Alumni Hall
P: 315-228-7510
cbannerhaley@colgate.edu
Fall 2018: HIST 199A, HIST 218A, HIST 318A
F18 Office Hours: MW 10:30-12:30pm, T 2:40-3:40, or by appointment   

barrera

Antonio Barrera
Associate Professor of History

  • Atlantic world history
  • Early modern Spanish history
  • Early modern European history
  • 16th-century science in Spain and America

308 Alumni Hall
P: 315-228-7549
abarrera@colgate.edu 
Fall 2018: HIST 209A, Core 152B
F18 Office Hours: T 3-4:30pm, W 4-5:30pm, or by appointment

bouk

Dan Bouk
Associate Professor of History
Associate Professor of University Studies and Chair, Core 152  Studies

  • U.S. Intellectual and Cultural History
  • History of Knowledge and Knowing (Science, Medicine, and Environment)
  • History of Capitalism

314 Alumni Hall
P: 315-228-6166
dbouk@colgate.edu
Fall 2018: HIST 306A, Core 152C
F18 Office Hours: W 6-8pm, R 1:30-3:30pm, or by appointment 

Alan_opt

Alan Cooper
Associate Professor of History

  • Medieval European History
  • Modern Britain
  • England 11th and 12th centuries
  • The intersection of legal and cultural history
  • Power and oppression

323 Alumni Hall
P: 315-228-7159
acooper@colgate.edu 
Fall 2018: on leave 

Staff Avatar

Julian Cresser
Visiting Assistant Professor

  • West Indian cricket
  • Sport, Caribbean Culture and Heritage, and Audiovisual History

324 Alumni Hall
P: 315-228-6616
jcressercolgate.edu 
Fall 2018: HIST/ALST 228, ALST 203/Core 163C
F18 Office Hours: W 9-11am, 1-3pm, or by appointment

Douglas

Ray Douglas
Russell Colgate Distinguished University Professor of History

  • 20th-century Europe

319 Alumni Hall
P: 315-228-7073
rdouglas@colgate.edu 
Fall 2018: HIST 271A, HIST 350A, 400A
F18 Office Hours: MWF 9:15-10:15, or by appointment   

Etefa

Tsega Etefa
Associate Professor of History
Coordinator, African Studies Concentration in the Africana and Latin American Studies Program

- Transnational and Borderland
- Center-periphery Relations  
- Grassroots Courts and Indigenous Institution 
- Ethnic Relations
- Peace and Conflict
- Slavery and Slave trade

316 Alumni Hall
P: 315-228-7515
tetefa@colgate.edu 
Fall 2018: HIST106/ALST282 AX, Core 173C, HIST 385A
F18 Office Hours: MW 2:40-4pm, T 9-11am, or by appointment 

harsin

Jill Harsin
Professor of History

- French Revolution, Early Modern Europe, Modern France, Women's History

310 Alumni Hall
P: 315-228-7518
jharsin@colgate.edu
Fall 2018: HIST 233A, FSEM TBD
F18 Office Hours: MWF 8-9am, 11:15am-12:15pm, or by appointment 

graham-hodges

Graham Hodges
George Dorland Langdon Jr. Professor of History and Africana & Latin American Studies 

  • Colonial and revolutionary American history
  • Social history
  • Labor and urban America
  • New York City history
  • Asian American history

321 Alumni Hall
P: 315-228-7517
ghodges@colgate.edu
Fall 2018: HIST 103A, 203A
F18 Office Hours: TR 9:55-11:10am, 11am-1pm, or by appointment 

Hull

Jennifer Hull
Visiting Assistant Professor of History
Bicentennial Research Fellow
Bicentennial Committee Member
 
- Colgate History
- U.S. social and cultural history (long 19th century)
- African American history
- New York City history
- History of women and gender

328 Alumni Hall
P: 315-228-5702
jhull@colgate.edu
F18: Bicentennial Research

Karn
Xan Karn
Associate Professor of History, 
Director, Peace & Conflict Studies Program
- Modern European history (political, cultural, and intellectual)
- Historical justice and reconciliation
- History and memory

327 Alumni Hall
P: 315-228-7514
akarn@colgate.edu
Fall 2018: HIST 300A
F18 Office Hours: M 1-2:30pm, T 9:30-11am, or by appointment 
noor-khan

Noor Khan
Associate Professor in History and Middle Eastern and Islamic Studies
 
- National and transnational identity in Egypt and the Arab world
- Political and social violence in the modern Middle East and South Asia
- Memory and identity in the Partition of India and Palestine
- Islam and identity in the twentieth century 

325 Alumni Hall
P: 315-228-7556
nikhan@colgate.edu
Fall 2018: HIST 400B
F18 Office Hours: W 11-1pm, R 10-11:30am or by appointment  

mercado

Monica Mercado
Assistant Professor of History
 

- U.S. women's and gender history 
- History of sexuality 
- Religion in American culture / American Catholic studies 
- Museum Studies 
- Public history / Digital history

318 Alumni Hall
P: 315-228-7516
mmercado@colgate.edu
Fall 2018: HIST 199B, 211A
F18 Office Hours: W 2:45-4:15pm, F 10:30am-12pm, or by appointment

Moore

Brian Moore
John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Professor of History and Africana & Latin American Studies

  • Caribbean history, culture and race relations
  • History of sport in the Caribbean
  • Caribbean politics and governance

216 Alumni Hall
P: 315-228-7260
blmoore@colgate.edu
Fall 2018: on leave  

Staff Avatar

David Robinson
Robert H.N. Ho Professor in Asian Studies
Professor of History

  • Early-modern Chinese, Korean, Japanese history

315 Alumni Hall
P: 315-228-7512
drobinson@colgate.edu
Fall 2018: HIST 265A, 370A
F18 Office Hours: MWF 12:30-2:30pm, or by appointment

heather-roller

Heather Roller
Associate Professor of History
Director of Benton Scholars Program
 
- Amazonia and Brazil; ethnohistory; indigenous peoples under colonial rule; autonomous indigenous groups; mobility and migration; borderlands; environmental history

322 Alumni Hall
P: 315-228-7563
hroller@colgate.edu
Fall 2018: HIST 399A
F18 Office Hours: M 9-11am, or by appointment 

Andy-Rotter
Andy Rotter
Charles A. Dana Professor of History and Peace and Conflict Studies
  • U.S. diplomatic history
  • Recent U.S. history
  • The Vietnam War
  • U.S.-Asia relations
  • Cold War
  • History of the senses
319 Alumni Hall
P: 315-228-7513
arotter@colgate.edu
Fall 2018: PCON 479B
F18 Office Hours: M 3-4pm, T 1-2pm, R 2-3pm, or by appointment
stevens

Kira Stevens
Professor of History and Russian and Eurasian Studies

  • Russia and USSR: late medieval and early modern Europe
  • Women in Eastern Europe and USSR
  • Indigenous peoples of Siberia
  • Early modern Russia: popular culture, social change, banditry; Military history

307 Alumni Hall
P: 315-228-7542
kstevens@colgate.edu
Fall 2018: on leave

Staff Avatar

Tristan Tomlinson
Senior Lecturer

  • 18th-Century Britain
  • Atlantic World
  • Population and governance
  • Health and laboring populations

203 Lathrop Hall
P: 315-228-5934
ttomlinson@colgate.edu
Fall 2018: HIST 210A, Core 151S, FSEM 188A
F18 Office Hours: M 1-2:30pm, F 9:15-10:45am, or by appointment

Emeritus

Dick Frost
Professor of History, Emeritus  
- Professor of History 1966-96
rfrost@colgate.edu 


Jim Berg
Professor of History, Emeritus  
- Africa, India, and the United Kingdom.

 
Faye Dudden
Charles A. Dana Professor of History, Emerita 
- U.S. women's history, 19th century U.S. social and cultural history, Civil War and Reconstruction, reform movements, gender and popular culture
fdudden@colgate.edu