Faculty Director

The Institute is administered by faculty director Ahmet Ay. The director is appointed by the President with advice from the Dean of the Faculty. The director normally serves a three-year term.

Professor of Biology and Mathematics; Director of the Research Council; and Director of the Picker Interdisciplinary Science Institute
408 Ho Science Center
  • T 3:30pm - 4:30pm (408 Ho Science Center)
  • R 2:00pm - 4:00pm (408 Ho Science Center)

Picker ISI Coordinator

Charlotte (Char) Howard is the academic department coordinator for the Picker Interdisciplinary Science Institute.

Academic Department Coordinator

Executive Advisory Committee

The Executive Advisory Committee provides guidance to faculty interested in participating in the Institute and selects proposed activities for support by the Institute. The committee is comprised of one member of each of the NASC departments, Geology department, and UNST, AHUM, and SOSC divisions. Committee members normally serve three-year terms. One representative from the Dean of Faculty office and Director of University Grants and Sponsored Research serve ex officio.

Sweet Family Chair and Associate Professor of Physics and Astronomy; Chair, Department of Physics and Astronomy
409 Ho Science Center
  • M 10:30am - 12:00pm (409 Ho Science Center)
  • W 3:00pm - 4:30pm (409 Ho Science Center)
Associate Professor of Mathematics
  • MWR 2:30pm - 4:00pm (215 McGregory Hall)
Associate Dean of the Faculty for Faculty Recruitment and Development; Associate Professor of Theater
Director of University Grants and Sponsored Research
Associate Professor of Computer Science; Chair of the Department of Computer Science
319A McGregory Hall
  • M 2:00pm - 3:00pm (319A McGregory Hall)
  • T 1:00pm - 2:00pm (319A McGregory Hall)
  • W 10:15am - 11:15am (319A McGregory Hall)
Assistant Professor of Chemistry
Professor of Earth and Environmental Geosciences and Peace and Conflict Studies
424 Ho Science Center
  • TR 3:00pm - 5:00pm (424 Ho Science Center)
Harrington and Shirley Drake Professor of Japanese and Linguistics; Chair, Department of East Asian Languages & Literatures; Director, Linguistics Program
9A Lawrence Hall
  • M 1:30pm - 3:00pm (9A Lawrence Hall)
  • W 11:30am - 1:00pm (9A Lawrence Hall)
Associate Professor of Geography; Director of the Environmental Studies Program
Gretchen Hoadley Burke ’81 Endowed Chair in Regional Studies; Dunham Beldon Jr. Professor of Biology and Environmental Studies
227 Ho Science Center
  • MW 12:30pm - 2:00pm (227 Ho Science Center)
Professor of Global Public and Environmental Health
328 Alumni Hall
  • M 3:00pm - 4:00pm (328 Alumni Hall)
  • T 1:00pm - 3:00pm (328 Alumni Hall)
Associate Professor of Psychological and Brain Sciences