Ho Tung Visualization Laboratory

The Ho Tung Visualization Lab is a digital planetarium that immerses audience members in stunning visualizations from sliding down a microscope to the far reaches of the cosmos.

Students in Vis Lab
Armed with Digistar from Evans & Sutherland, the lab continues to be on the cutting edge of immersive technology. Working with Vis Lab staff and faculty, students learn to produce and present fulldome content for school field trips, public shows, and Colgate courses.

Click to enter external Ho Tung Vis Lab Website

About the Lab

Robert H.N. Ho
Robert H.N. Ho

The Ho Tung Visualization Laboratory was a special gift to Colgate from Robert H.N. Ho '56 in memory of his grandfather Sir Robert Ho Tung.

Knighted twice by King George V and Queen Elizabeth II, Sir Robert Ho Tung was active as a businessman and philanthropist in the British Crown Colony of Hong Kong. At the September 15, 2007 dedication ceremony for the visualization lab, Mr. Ho quoted a Chinese proverb: "huh shwei, suh yuan"-"Drink water: consider source."

May those who discover new frontiers in this laboratory consider how they can model Sir Robert Ho Tung and Robert H.N. Ho's inspiring words.

A magical shot of Paul Catanese performing in the Vis Lab

Academics in the Lab

Students and faculty are using the lab to do incredible work. From exploring the galaxy to exploring ancient buildings, the lab lends itself to a variety of academic projects. 

Ho Tung Academics

Fluorescent minerals light up visiting students faces at visualization lab

Science Field Trips

We collaborate with Colgate’s greenhouse and geology museum to offer area teachers and their students incredible learning opportunities. To schedule a field trip or to find out more information about Colgate’s Science Outreach program, please call 315-228-6125 or email scienceoutreach@colgate.edu.

Groups are limited to no more than 50 students per visit.

Location and Access

The lab is a handicap-accessible facility on the Colgate University. It is located on the fourth floor of the Robert H.N. Ho Science Center, at the top of the main stairwell.

Available for:

  • Public shows
  • Field trips
  • Private shows

Quick Facts

Dome diameter: 10 meters
Capacity: 59 seats
System: Evans and Sutherland: Digistar 6 
Opened: March 28, 2008

Contact Information

Ho Tung Visualization Lab
Colgate University
13 Oak Drive
Hamilton, NY 13346
Phone: 315-228-6125
vislab@colgate.edu

Staff

Technical Director & Designer-Visualization Lab and Planetarium
Charles A. Dana Professor of Physics and Astronomy
Administrative Assistant for Geology and Science Outreach Coordinator
Name Department Email
Thomas Balonek Physics and Astronomy tbalonek@colgate.edu
Jeff Bary Physics and Astronomy jbary@colgate.edu
Kenneth Belanger Biology kbelanger@colgate.edu
Adam Burnett Geography aburnett@colgate.edu
Robert Garland Classics rgarland@colgate.edu
Kiko Galvez Physics and Astronomy egalvez@colgate.edu
Karen Harpp Geology kharpp@colgate.edu
Santiago Juarez Anthropology and Native American Studies sjuarez@colgate.edu
Ernie Nolan Division of Natural Sciences and Mathematics, Biology enolan@colgate.edu
Jeff Nugent Information Technology jnugent@colgate.edu