Division of Social Sciences

Colgate’s Division of Social Sciences is home to seven academic departments, two centers and institutes at the forefront of modern research, and the Longyear Museum of Anthropology.

Academic Departments

At Colgate, the scientific method is rigorously applied to research pursuits in interdisciplinary fields of study such as economics, history, and more.

The Division of Social Science oversees the following academic programs:

Division director: Adam Burnett
Administrative assistant: Erin Conway
Office: Persson Hall 18 and 19
Phone: 315-228-7256

Longyear Museum of Anthropology

An exhibition of Indigenous clothing at the Longyear Museum of Anthropology

Sociology and anthropology students at Colgate benefit from hands-on learning experiences at the Longyear Museum of Anthropology, a teaching collection of archaeological and ethnographic materials from Africa, Oceania, Native North America, and Pre-Columbian cultures of North, Central, and South America.

Explore Our Museum