These talks are made possible by the generous support of the Jerome Balmuth Fund and the Marion Hoeflich Memorial Endowment for Advancements in Philosophy.

Fall 2019

Saturday, September 14

CNY Humanities Corridor Workshop on Plato and Platonism

Rachana Kamtekar, Cornell
Plato on Intelligent Agents
11:00 am,  213 Benton Hall

Rachel Singpurwalla, Maryland
Law in Plato’s Political Thought
1:30 pm,  213 Benton Hall

Whitney Schwab, UMBC
Non-Perceptual Kataleptic Impressions in Stoicism
3:30 pm,  213 Benton Hall

Organizer: Jacob Klein, Colgate University 

Thursday, September 26

Mark Schroeder, University of Southern California

Relationship Pathologies

Audi Lecture

4:15 pm, 105 Lawrence Hall

Thursday, October 10

Joel Schlosser, Bryn Mawr College
4:15 pm, 105 Lawrence Hall

Thursday, October 24

Justin Garson, Hunter College
What Biological Functions Are and Why They Matter
4:15 pm, 105 Lawrence Hall

Thursday, October 29

Maura Tumulty, Colgate University

Alien Experience:  Hating How, Not What, We Perceive

Arts and Humanities Colloquium

4:15 pm, 105 Lawrence Hall

Thursday, November 7

Eric Wiland, University of Missouri – St. Louis
What is Group Well-Being
4:15 pm, 105 Lawrence Hall

Wednesday, November 20

Julia Markovits, Cornell University
4:15 pm, 105 Lawrence Hall

Tuesday, 19 February 2019
Edward Witherspoon, Colgate University

Wittgenstein versus Zombies:  An Investigation of our Mental Concepts

Arts and Humanities Colloquium

4:15 pm, 105 Lawrence Hall

 

Thursday, 21 March 2019

Peter Adamson, Ludwig–Maximilians–Universität München

Philosophy Without Borders: Transmission of Ideas between Europe, India, Africa, and the Islamic World

Hartshorne Memorial Lecture

4:15 pm, 105 Lawrence Hall

 

Thursday, 28 March 2019

Samantha Matherne, Harvard University

Kant on Imagination as the Faculty of Presentation

4:15 pm, 105 Lawrence Hall

 

Thursday, 11 April 2019

Elisabeth Camp, Rutgers University

Just Kidding: Sarcasm, Jokes and Willful Deniability in Speech

4:15 pm, 105 Lawrence Hall

 

Thursday, 25 April 2019

Barry Lam, Vassar College

Crime and Epistemology in the Age of AI: Lessons from the Ground

4:15 pm, 105 Lawrence Hall

Tuesday, 2 October 2018

David McCabe, Colgate University

Kant was a Racist. Now What?

Colgate Arts and Humanities Colloquium

4:15 pm Lawrence 105

 

Thursday, 1 November 2018

Michelle Kosch, Cornell University

Effort, Inability and Faith in Kierkegaard’s Concluding Unscientific Postscript

4:15 pm Lawrence 105

 

Wednesday, 7 November 2018

Luvell Anderson, Syracuse University

Roasting Ethics

4:15 pm Lawrence 105

 

Thursday, 29 November 2018

Hannah Ginsborg, University of California Berkeley

Wittgenstein on Going On

4:15 pm Lawrence 105