Two Students from Physics and Astronomy Department Among Three Colgate University Juniors to Receive Goldwater Scholarships

Back to Physics and Astronomy News and Updates

Two students from physics and astronomy departments — Gavin Fowler ’24 and Sarah Miller ’24 — have been named as Colgate’s 2023 Goldwater Scholarship recipients. The third recipient is neuroscience major Hayley Lenhard ’24.

The Goldwater Scholarship Program, one of the oldest and most prestigious national scholarships in the natural sciences, engineering, and mathematics in the United States, identifies and supports college sophomores and juniors who show exceptional promise of becoming this nation’s next generation of research leaders in these fields. Aside from the stipend and support, the Goldwater scholarship is often an integral stepping stone in the scholar’s research and scientific career.

About Sarah Miller ’24: Miller is a physics major and biology minor from Hackettstown, N.J. At Colgate, she is a member of Professor of Physics Ken Segall’s team that investigates neuromorphic computing. During the summer of 2021, she conducted research with Assistant Professor of Physics and Astronomy Ramesh Adhikari on the development of diphenylalanine (FF) nanostructures with the broader goal of developing bioelectronics for implantable devices. Miller is also is a member of the women’s lacrosse team. This summer, she will travel to Paris to join the University of Michigan’s NSF REU to participate in research in medical physics.

About Gavin Fowler: Fowler is an astrogeophysics major from Hopewell, N.J. He has been assisting Associate Professor of Physics Jonathan Levine’s research to develop a prototype spaceflight mass spectrometer that could be used on future NASA missions. This summer, Fowler will continue this work at the Southwest Research Institute in Boulder, Colo. At Colgate, he is a member of the cross-country and track and field teams.

Information about all the Colgate recipients of the Goldwater Scholarship is available here.