Communications Office - News - Website - Publications - Photos Skip Navigation

Office of Communications

Members of the communications team steward Colgate’s reputation and identity and help tell the Colgate story across all media platforms.
We curate and create content for the award-winning Colgate Scene magazine, for digital outlets that include a new mobile app, social media, and responsive-design website, for admission and advancement publications, and through media relations campaigns.

How Can We Help?

Communications provides strategic communications guidance and partnership. We also work closely with journalists seeking information or faculty expertise.

Work With Us

If you are not sure who might best assist you, please contact Kathy Owen, senior administrative assistant, at 315-228-7407 or kowen@colgate.edu.

Resources and Tools

The university strives to maintain a consistent public identity and high standards for all communications. We offer the following resources to assist members of the campus community in this important university-wide effort.

Laura Jack, Vice President for Communications

Laura Jack

Vice President for Communications
Laura brings to her position years of experience in higher education communications, in areas such as strategic planning, website and social media management, publications, public relations, and market research. More about Laura Jack

Phone: 315-228-7407
E-mail: ljack@colgate.edu
Kathy Bridge

Kathy Owen

Senior Administrative Assistant
Kathy is our go-to person for administrative support. She maintains the office budgets, manages meeting requests, and monitors the campus online calendar. She also serves as production assistant for the Colgate Scene, organizing class news and maintaining the mailing list.

Phone: 315-228-7407
E-mail: kowen@colgate.edu

Content Strategy

The content strategy team creates and shares the Colgate news that is most relevant to prospective families, alumni, and the wider public. The team also works with journalists and social media influencers to generate coverage of Colgate newsmakers, and successes.
Dan DeVries

Dan DeVries

Media Relations Director
Dan is the main point of contact for local and national media. His responsibilities include managing incoming requests for faculty and administrative expertise, development and implementation of outbound public relations efforts, and coordinating on-campus media visits and interviews.

Phone: 315-228-6395
E-mail: ddevries@colgate.edu
Avatar

Rebecca Docter

Assistant Editor, University Publications

Phone: 315-228-7917
E-mail: rdocter@colgate.edu
Rebecca Downing

Rebecca Downing

Senior Director, Communications Initiatives
Rebecca works with campus partners on a wide range of university-level communications initiatives. From strategic goal-setting and planning through ensuring implementation and assessment of communication plans and projects, she also often serves as principal researcher, writer, and project manager for those initiatives.

Phone: 315-228-7415
E-mail: rdowning@colgate.edu
Avatar

Sara Furlong

Advancement Communications Manager

Phone: 315-228-7916
E-mail: sfurlong@colgate.edu
Matt Hames

Matt Hames

Communications Strategist
Matt is responsible for the planning, measurement, and dissemination of university communications, including digital and social media. He partners with colleagues across the university in incorporating digital strategy into content development.

Phone: 315-228-6637
E-mail: mhames@colgate.edu
Aleta Mayne

Aleta Mayne

Managing Editor, University Publications
In addition to overseeing the Colgate Scene magazine, Aleta is an integral member of the content team — planning, developing, and editing various university communications materials.

Phone: 315-228-6669
E-mail: amayne@colgate.edu
Avatar

Kristin Monteith

Admission Communications Manager

Phone: 315-228-6471
E-mail: kmonteith@colgate.edu
Mark Walden

Mark Walden

Communications Director
While advising on strategic marketing and communications plans, Mark leads the development, writing, and editing of print and digital publications to support admission, institutional advancement, and other key areas of the university.

Phone: 315-228-6535
E-mail: mcwalden@colgate.edu

Creative Team

The creative team plays a key role in creating official university materials, including digital media, the admission view book, fundraising materials, the Colgate calendar, the university catalogue, and more.
Avatar

Gordon Brillon

Web Content Specialist

Phone: 315-228-7918
E-mail: gbrillon@colgate.edu
Mark DiOrio

Mark DiOrio

University Photographer

Phone: 315-228-6670
E-mail: mdiorio@colgate.edu
Dave Herringshaw

Dave Herringshaw

Digital Production Specialist
Dave engages Colgate’s audiences, especially alumni, through social media, web content, e-mail marketing, and analytical reporting. He helps campus constituents reach their desired audiences through targeted messaging and emerging technology.

Phone: 315-228-6408
E-mail: dherringshaw@colgate.edu
Tim Horn

Tim Horn

Creative Director
Tim leads Colgate’s visual identity and content creation, including design, digital architecture and production, and multimedia.

Phone: 315-228-7462
E-mail: thorn@colgate.edu
Jason Kammerdiener

Jason Kammerdiener

Web Manager
Jason manages the team that creates and curates content on colgate.edu. He supports the strategic management of the website's information architecture, and trains and coordinates campus users of the university's content management system.

Phone: 315-228-6186
E-mail: jkammerdiener@colgate.edu
Karen Luciani

Karen Luciani

Art Director and Visual Brand Manager
Karen is responsible for creating, producing, and guiding the overall design of Colgate’s visual communications. She assists in project management and builds relationships with vendors and freelance resources.

Phone: 315-228-6660
E-mail: kluciani@colgate.edu
Katie Laube

Katie Laube

Senior Designer
Katie designs print publications, marketing materials, and program graphics. As part of the communications web team, she also designs many university digital and interactive initiatives.

Phone: 315-228-6780
E-mail: klaube@colgate.edu
Brian Ness

Brian Ness

Video Journalism Coordinator
Brian creates videos for communications office initiatives and projects and manages student video journalists.

Phone: 315-228-6256
E-mail: bness@colgate.edu
Katriel Pritts

Katriel Pritts

Junior Designer

Phone: 315-228-7416
E-mail: kpritts@colgate.edu