Faculty and Staff - Department of Sociology and Anthropology Skip Navigation

Faculty and Staff - Sociology and Anthropology

Our faculty and staff are enthusiastic and accessible. Please reach out with any questions or interests you have in our department.
Sociology and Anthropology Faculty

Sociology and Anthropology Faculty

Bottom row L to R: Chandra Russo, Alicia Simmons, Carolyn Hsu, Nancy Ries.
Middle Row L to R: Kristin De Lucia, Anthony Aveni, Elana Shever, Michelle Bigenho, Emilio Spadola, Jacqueline Villarrubia-Mendoza, Jordan Kerber, Mary Moran
Back Row L to R: Santiago Juarez, Christopher Henke, Paul Lopes, Jonathan Hyslop
Missing: Janel Benson, Meika Loe
Tony Aveni
Russell Colgate Distinguished University Professor of Astronomy and Anthropology and Native American Studies, Emeritus
P: 315-228-7214
aaveni@colgate.edu

Janel Benson
Associate Professor of Sociology
425 Alumni Hall
P: 315-228-6095
jbenson@colgate.edu

Michelle Bigenho
Professor of Anthropology and Africana & Latin American Studies; Chair, Department of Sociology & Anthropology
427 Alumni Hall
P: 315-228-7030
mbigenho@colgate.edu

Nigel Bolland
Charles A. Dana Professor of Sociology and Caribbean Studies, Emeritus
nbolland@colgate.edu

Kristin De Lucia
Assistant Professor of Anthropology
Alumni Hall
P: 315-228-6279
kdelucia@colgate.edu

Karen Forni Austin
Administrative Assistant
411-412 Alumni Hall
P: 315-228-7543
kfaustin@colgate.edu

Tom Hall
Research Affiliate in the Department of Sociology and Anthropology
P: 315-228-7543
tdhall@colgate.edu

Chris Henke
Associate Professor of Sociology; Director, Upstate Institute
419 Alumni Hall
P: 315-228-7076
chenke@colgate.edu

Carolyn L. Hsu
Associate Professor of Sociology
408 Alumni Hall
P: 315-228-7083
chsu@colgate.edu

Jonathan Hyslop
Professor of Sociology and Anthropology and Africana & Latin American Studies
414 Alumni Hall
P: 315-228-6043
jhyslop@colgate.edu

Santiago Juarez
Assistant Professor of Anthropology
Alumni Hall
P: 315-228-7551
sjuarez@colgate.edu

Jordan Kerber
Professor of Sociology and Anthropology and Native American Studies; Curator of Collections, Longyear Museum of Anthropology
421 Alumni Hall
P: 315-228-7559
jkerber@colgate.edu

Rhonda F. Levine
Professor of Sociology, Emerita
P: 315-228-7532
RLevine@colgate.edu

Meika Loe
Professor of Sociology and Women's Studies
424 Alumni Hall
P: 315-228-7077
mloe@colgate.edu

Paul Lopes
Associate Professor of Sociology
416 Alumni Hall
P: 315-228-7553
plopes@colgate.edu

Allan Maca
Research Affiliate
P: 315-228-7543
amaca@colgate.edu

Mary Moran
Professor of Anthropology and Africana & Latin American Studies
417 Alumni Hall
P: 315-228-7548
mmoran@colgate.edu

Nancy Ries
Professor of Anthropology and Peace and Conflict Studies, Director of the Division of University Studies; Christian A. Johnson Chair in Liberal Arts Studies
410 Alumni Hall
P: 315-228-7552
nries@colgate.edu

Chandra Russo
Assistant Professor of Sociology
416 Alumni Hall
P: 315-228-6420
crusso@colgate.edu

Elana Shever
Associate Professor of Anthropology
418 Alumni Hall
P: 315-228-7035
eshever@colgate.edu

Alicia Simmons
Assistant Professor of Sociology
422 Alumni Hall
P: 315-228-7990
asimmons@colgate.edu

Emilio Spadola
Associate Professor of Anthropology and Middle Eastern and Islamic Civilization Studies
423 Alumni Hall
P: 315-228-6094
espadola@colgate.edu

Jacqueline Villarrubia
Assistant Professor of Sociology
413 Alumni Hall
P: 315-228-6042
jvillarrubia@colgate.edu

Antonia Young
Research Associate in Sociology and Anthropology
ayoung@colgate.edu