Faculty and Staff - Department of Physics and Astronomy Skip Navigation

Faculty and Staff - Physics and Astronomy

Our faculty and staff are enthusiastic and accessible. Please reach out with any questions or interests you have in our department!

In the Media

Enrique Galvez, was recently featured in a segment on Scientific American about Quantum Entanglement. VIEW NOW

Faculty and Staff Listing

Joe Amato
Professor of Physics, Emeritus
jamato@colgate.edu

Tony Aveni
Russell Colgate Distinguished University Professor of Astronomy and Anthropology and Native American Studies
410 Ho Science Center
P: 315-228-7214
aaveni@colgate.edu

Thomas Balonek
Professor of Physics and Astronomy
407 Ho Science Center
P: 315-228-7767
tbalonek@colgate.edu

Jeff Bary
Associate Professor of Physics and Astronomy
409 Ho Science Center
P: 315-228-7693
jbary@colgate.edu

Patrick Crotty
Associate Professor of Physics & Astronomy
411 Ho Science Center
P: 315-228-6617
pcrotty@colgate.edu

Kiko Galvez
Charles A. Dana Professor of Physics and Astronomy
314 Ho Science Center
P: 315-228-7205
egalvez@colgate.edu

Charlie Holbrow
Charles A. Dana Professor of Physics, Emeritus
cholbrow@colgate.edu

Diane Janney
Administrative Assistant
331 Ho Science Center
P: 315-228-7226
djanney@colgate.edu

Josh Jones
Visiting Assistant Professor
Ho Science Center
P: 315-228-6084
jjones1@colgate.edu

Jonathan Levine
Associate Professor of Physics and Astronomy
132 Ho Science Center
P: 315-228-6632
jlevine@colgate.edu

Shimon Malin
Professor of Physics, Emeritus
smalin@colgate.edu

Rebecca Metzler
Assistant Professor
230 Ho Science Center
P: 315-228-6025
rmetzler@colgate.edu

Beth Parks
Associate Professor of Physics and Astronomy
130 Ho Science Center
P: 315-228-7208
meparks@colgate.edu

John Roller
Laboratory Instructor
Ho Science Center
jroller@colgate.edu

Ken Segall
Associate Professor of Physics; Chair, Department of Physics & Astronomy
317 Ho Science Center
P: 315-228-6597
ksegall@colgate.edu

Research Areas

Astronomy
This work is done under the direction of professors Thomas Balonek and Jeff Bary. It involves experimental research in a few areas:
  • Quasar variability
  • Astronomical techniques
  • Archaeoastronomy
  • Astrophysics


Atomic and Optical Physics
This work is done under the direction of Professor Enrique J. Galvez. It involves experimental research in a few areas:
  • Atomic physics with Rydberg atoms
  • Optical physics
  • Physics education
  • Photon quantum mechanics


Condensed Matter Physics
Professor Beth Parks studies condensed matter physics. Two major recent projects include:
  • Using terahertz spectroscopy to learn about the properties of single-molecule magnets
  • Studying the conductivity of carbon nanotubes.
Low Temperature/Solid State Physics
Professor Joseph C. Amato directs this research program aimed at studying the electrical resistance of thin films as a function of temperature and magnetic field. There are two components to this work:
  • Preparing thin film metallic samples and studying their superconducting properties.
  • Patterning the surface of the thin films.


Physics Education
Members of the department have been involved in the following educational projects:
  • Modernizing the introductory physics sequence
  • Creating new laboratories for the introductory physics courses
  • Designing new undergraduate experiments on photon quantum mechanics