First-Year Information - Registrar - Colgate University Skip Navigation

First-Year Registration Information

Welcome, Class of 2023!

Students sit on the Academic Quad in front of Olin Hall

Fully Review Materials on This Page

Every link contains important information.
  • The crucial steps are to review the first-year course offerings and to submit your course preference form by Wednesday, June 19. The other materials will help inform and guide you in identifying your preferences, particularly the Department/Program pages.

  • If you have any questions about the materials contained in these links, please contact the Registrar's Office (315-228-7676, 315-228-7408, or registrar@colgate.edu).

Registration Timeline

June 5: Registration information posted for the Class of 2023

June 5 - June 19: Incoming first-year students review registration information posted on this page, including fall 2019 course offerings, before submitting the course preference form no later than June 19.

June 19: All course preference forms must be received by this date.

June 19 - July 19: The Registrar's staff reviews and processes each course preference form in registration group order. (See the How to Select Preferences link below for the group order.)

July 19 (tentative): Schedules are released to the Class of 2023. An email will be sent your Colgate email address when schedules are ready.

Course Preference Guidance

Using the links in the order listed will be most helpful. Course descriptions are available in the Department/Program pages, as well as in the course offerings.

Faculty Advisers available to incoming students

The links under Course Preference Guidance (above) can assist you in choosing fall courses. However, if you would like to speak to someone with a specific area of interest, you can reach out to a faculty adviser. These faculty members are available to offer specific advising in their area of specialty before the start of the semester.

Ken Belanger - Natural Sciences
kbelanger@colgate.edu

Adam Burnett - Social Science
aburnett@colgate.edu

Julie Chanatry - Health Sciences
jchanatry@colgate.edu

Nancy Ries - FSEMs, core curriculum, and other interdisciplinary programs
nries@colgate.edu

David McCabe - Arts/Humanities
dmccabe@colgate.edu

Ernie Nolen - Mathematics/Natural Sciences
enolen@colgate.edu

Cory Duclos - Foreign Languages
gduclos@colgate.edu

Office of the Registrar

Phone: 315-228-7408 and 315-228-7676
Email: registrar@colgate.edu
Physical Location: 103 Lathrop Hall