First-Year Information - Registrar - Colgate University Skip Navigation

First-Year Registration Information

Welcome, Class of 2022!
Students sit on the Academic Quad in front of Olin Hall

Fully Review Materials on This Page

Every link contains important information.
  • The crucial steps are to review the first-year course offerings and to submit your course preference form by Wednesday, June 27, 2018. The other materials will help inform and guide you in identifying your preferences, particularly the Department/Program pages.
  • If you have any questions about the materials contained in these links, please contact the Registrar's Office (315-228-7676, 315-228-7408, or registrar@colgate.edu).

Registration Timeline

June 6: Registration information posted for the Class of 2022

June 6 - June 27: Incoming first-year students review registration information posted on this page, including fall 2018 course offerings, before submitting the course preference form no later than June 27.

June 27: All course preference forms must be received by this date.

June 27 - August 1: The Registrar's staff reviews and processes each course preference form in registration group order. (See the How to Select Preferences link below for the group order.)

August 1 (tentative): Schedules are released to the Class of 2022. An email will be sent your Colgate email address when schedules are ready.

Course Preference Guidance

Using the links in the order listed will be most helpful. Course descriptions are available in the Department/Program pages, as well as in the course offerings.

Additional Resources

Summer Advisers
The links under Course Preference Guidance (above) can assist you in choosing fall courses. However, if you would like more help, you can reach out to a Summer Adviser. These faculty members are available to offer specific advising in their area of specialty before the start of the semester.

Kenneth Belanger - Natural Sciences
kbelanger@colgate.edu

Adam Burnett - Social Science
aburnett@colgate.edu

Julie Chanatry - Health Sciences
jchanatry@colgate.edu

Jessica Graybill - FSEMs, core curriculum, and other interdisciplinary programs
jgraybill@colgate.edu

David McCabe - Arts/Humanities
dmccabe@colgate.edu

Dan Schult - Mathematics/Natural Sciences
dschult@colgate.edu