Equity Grievance Panel - Colgate University Skip Navigation

Equity Grievance Panel (EGP)

Members of the EGP are trained in all aspects of the grievance process to:
  • Provide sensitive intake and initial counseling of complaints
  • Serve in a mediation role in conflict resolution
  • Investigate complaints
  • Act as advisers to those involved in complaints, and
  • Serve on hearing panels for complaints.
EGP members also recommend proactive policies, and serve in an educative role for the community. EGP members receive annual training organized by the Director for EEO/AA, including a review of Colgate policies and procedures so that they are able to provide accurate information to members of the community. All EGP members are required to attend this annual training. All administrative advisers also undergo training with the panel regardless of whether they are formally appointed to the panel.

2013-14 Equity Grievance Panel Members

  • Co-chair for Faculty - Nancy Ries, Professor of Anthropology and Peace & Conflict Studies (ext. 7552)
  • Co-chair for Staff - Jennifer Servedio, Managing Director, Client Support Services (ext. 6814)
  • Co-chair for Students - Kim Taylor, Associate Dean of Conduct (ext. 7426)
  • Antonio Barrera, Associate Professor of History (ext. 7549)
  • Bryanne Bowman, Senior Assistant Dean of Admission (ext. 7404)
  • Jennifer Brice, Associate Professor of English (ext. 7261)
  • Val Brogan, Investigator, Campus Safety (ext. 7333)
  • Antonio Burns, Senior Leadership Gifts Officer (ext. 6040)
  • Tori Carhart, Associate Registrar (ext. 7419)
  • Stacey Coleman, Office Coordinator, Admission (ext. 7122)
  • John Collins, Associate Vice President for Budget & Financial Aid (ext. 7714)
  • Sarah Courtney, Assistant Director of Residential Life (ext. 7956)
  • Nikki Doroshenko, Head Technician, Biology (ext. 7389)
  • Andrew Fagon, Assistant Controller and Risk Manager (ext. 7765)
  • Lamont Fields, Career Advisor (ext. 6770)
  • Tamala Flack, Director for EEO/AA (ext. 7014)
  • Frank Frey, Associate Professor of Biology and Environmental Studies; Academic Director of OUS (ext. 7871)
  • Gerry Gogel, Associate Professor of Chemistry (ext. 7236)
  • Jessica Graybill, Associate Professor of Geography (ext. 6498)
  • Brenda Ice, Director of Residential Life (ext. 7367)
  • Hélène Julien, Associate Professor of French and Women’s Studies (ext. 7664)
  • Eliza Kent, Associate Professor of Religion (ext. 7688)
  • Christina Khan, Assistant Dean and Director of International Student Services (ext. 7370)
  • Noor Khan, Associate Professor of History (ext. 7556)
  • Frank Kuan, Senior Associate Director for the Office of Undergraduate Studies (ext. 5009)
  • Meika Loe, Associate Professor of Sociology and Women’s Studies; Director of LGBTQ; Director of Women’s Studies (ext. 7077)
  • Thad Mantaro, Director, Shaw Wellness Institute (ext. 6076)
  • Marni Manwarren, Administrative Assistant, Economics (ext. 7533)
  • Mary Moran, Professor of Anthropology and Africana & Latin American Studies (ext. 7548)
  • Colleen Nassimos, Office Manager, COVE (ext. 6880)
  • Robert Nemes, Associate Professor of History (ext. 7078)
  • Gert Neubauer, Assistant Director of Campus Safety (ext. 7333)
  • Mona Nyheim-Canales, Coordinator for Student Athlete Academic Achievement (ext.6551)
  • Letta Palmer, Administrative Assistant, Women’s Studies & Asian Studies (ext. 6868)
  • John Pumilio, Director of Sustainability (ext. 6487)
  • David Roberts, Assistant Professor and First-Year Experience and Instructional Design Librarian (ext. 6661)
  • Fouad Saleet, Assistant Dean for Campus Life (ext. 6843)
  • Peter Setlack, Managing Director, Networks, Systems & Operations (ext. 7151)
  • Aaron Solle, Administrative Assistant for Peace & Conflict Studies and Native American Studies (ext. 7806)
  • Jeffrey Spires, Senior Lecturer in University Studies (ext. 6606)
  • Suzanne Spring, Senior Lecturer in Writing and Rhetoric and Coordinator of Second Language Writing (ext. 7316)
  • Peter Tschirhart, Assistant Dean for Undergraduate Scholars Program (ext. 6532)
  • Maura Tumulty, Associate Professor of Philosophy (ext.6461)
  • Christina Turner, Instructor in Physical Education, Director of Recreation, and Chair of Physical Education in the Division of Physical Education, Recreation and Athletics (ext. 7649)
The panel members are an informal source of advice and referral for those who seek a solution to problems of harassment or who wish to discuss the issue before filing a formal complaint.

The members endeavor to respect and follow the wishes of an individual who brings forward a discrimination or harassment concern. However, due to ethical and legal obligations to investigate incidents for the protection of all members of the community, it may not be possible for a conversation with a harassment adviser to be kept in confidence or, said another way, for the adviser simply to listen without taking action. An individual who wishes to receive emotional support only should contact one of the following confidential counseling resources: