SGA Structure - Branches of the Student Government Skip Navigation

Branches and Committees

The SGA is made up of a variety of branches and committees, each with designated responsibilities.

Class Councils

Each class shall elect four officers (President, Vice President, Secretary, and Treasurer) and five class council members. The Elections Commissioners shall oversee these elections.

Executive Branch

This branch is headed by the President, and refers to the President, the Vice President, and all positions appointed by the President, permanent and provisional. The Executive branch is made up of the President, Vice President, two Elections Commissioners, the Press Secretary, Recording Secretary, the ALANA Policy Coordinator and other appointed members. The purpose of the Executive is to represent the Association to outside parties and to promote the agenda of the students.

Legislative Branch

The branch of the Senate, the Parliamentarian, the Treasurer, the Budget Allocations Committee (BAC), and Liaison. The purpose of the Legislature is to facilitate student action through resolutions and agreements, to approve student groups, to allocate funds in the budget, and generally to improve the experience of members of the Association.


The Senate is the representative body of the Association, and refers to all Senators, including the Speaker, and all Chairs, except the Liaison. The Senate shall consist of 48 Senators. Each class year will be represented by 12 elected Senators. The Senate is divided into committees, each with a designated Chair.

Senate Committees

Budget Allocations Committee (BAC): The BAC consists of seven members. Six members, diverse in their group affiliations and interests, shall be chosen through an application process. The remaining member is a delegate, known as the Treasurer, chosen every semester by the senate. The Treasurer is responsible for overseeing The BAC. The BAC has the following powers and responsibilities:
  • To allocate funds to SGA-recognized student groups, the COVE, Class Councils, SGA-recognized Task Forces, the SGA Government, Maroon News, CUTV, and WRCU.
  • To approve budget allocations that constitute seven percent or less of that semester’s Budget and to propose budget allocations to the Senate that are in excess of seven percent of that semester’s budget. 

Student Affairs Committee (SAC):
The SAC shall discuss and resolve issues that relate to student life on campus. The Chair shall, in addition to his or her general powers and responsibilities granted to all chairs by the Senate, attend all Student Affairs and Campus Safety Governance Board meetings. Student members of the Student Affairs Governance Board shall attend all meetings.

Academic Affairs Committee (AAC):
The AAC shall discuss and resolve issues that relate to academics and faculty relations. The Chair shall, in addition to his or her general powers and responsibilities, attend all Academic Affairs Governance Board meetings. Student members of the Academic Affairs Governance Board shall attend all meetings.

Government Affairs Committee (GAC):
The GAC shall review and advise on resolutions, amendments, and bylaws coming before the Senate, and shall continually review the bylaws and workings of the Senate, the BAC, and the Executive, as well as the elections procedures. The Chair shall assume all general powers and responsibilities.

Student Organizations Committee (SOC):
The SOC shall work with current and prospective groups and task forces on campus to get approval and funding. The Committee shall introduce each new group or task force’s constitution to the Senate for approval. The Committee shall also be in charge of managing and keeping records on the activity and events of groups and task forces. Additionally, the Committee shall work with groups receiving funds from the Budget to become more efficient and cost effective. They shall also perform auditing duties to ensure that funds are spent correctly and appropriately. The Committee must report its findings to the BAC upon request. When necessary, they shall recommend dissolving of inactive student groups to the Senate. The Chair, known as the Liaison, shall, in addition to his or her general powers and responsibilities, retain the powers prescribed in the SGA Constitution. The Chair is not a Senator, and must be elected by the outgoing Senate in the spring prior to his or her taking office.

External Affairs Committee (EAC):
The EAC shall discuss and resolve issues that relate to village businesses and residents, including off-campus students. They shall be informed of and make recommendations to the Association on issues involving the neighboring community, and shall organize events and services which will facilitate and maintain positive relations between the university and the neighboring community. The Chair shall, in addition to his or her general powers and responsibilities, attend all Bookstore Governance Board meetings and all Hamilton village town hall meetings. He or she shall be the primary liaison to the mayor and police chief, and shall therefore meet regularly with both. He or she shall also act as the chief correspondent to the student governments of other colleges and universities.