Faculty and Staff - Department of Philosophy Skip Navigation

Faculty and Staff – Philosophy

Our faculty and staff are enthusiastic and accessible. Please reach out with any questions or interests you have in our department!
Anne Freire Ashbaugh
Professor of Philosophy, Emerita
aashbaugh@colgate.edu

Jerry Balmuth
Harry Emerson Fosdick Professor of Philosophy and Religion, Emeritus
jbalmuth@colgate.edu

Reid Blackman
Assistant Professor of Philosophy
101 Hascall Hall
P: 315-228-7681
rblackman@colgate.edu

Maudemarie Clark
George Carleton Jr. Professor of Philosophy, Emerita
P: 315-228-7691
mclark@colgate.edu

David Dudrick
Professor of Philosophy; Director, Sophomore Residential Scholars Program
107 Hascall Hall
P: 315-228-6719
ddudrick@colgate.edu

Jeanie Getchonis
Administrative Assistant
113 Hascall Hall
P: 315-228-7681
jgetchonis@colgate.edu

David Miguel Gray
Assistant Professor of Philosophy
109 Hascall Hall
P: 315-228-6520
dgray@colgate.edu

Robert Haraldsson
NEH Professor
104 Hascall Hall
P: 315-228-6236
rharaldsson@colgate.edu

Marie Jayasekera
Assistant Professor of Philosophy
110 Hascall Hall
P: 315-228-6171
mjayasekera@colgate.edu

Jason Kawall
Associate Professor of Philosophy and Environmental Studies; Director, Lampert Institute for Civic and Global Affairs
13 Hascall Hall
P: 315-228-7817
jkawall@colgate.edu

Jacob Klein
Associate Professor of Philosophy
112 Hascall Hall
P: 315-228-6031
jklein@colgate.edu

Ben Lennertz
Visiting Assistant Professor
Hascall Hall
blennertz@colgate.edu

David McCabe
Richard J. and Jean Head Chair in Philosophy; Director, Division of the Arts & Humanities
12 Hascall Hall
P: 315-228-7689
dmccabe@colgate.edu

Ulrich Meyer
Professor of Philosophy
108 Hascall Hall
P: 315-228-7681
umeyer@colgate.edu

Hibi Pendleton
Lecturer in Philosophy
201M McGregory Hall
P: 315-228-7685
hpendleton@colgate.edu

Brooks Sommerville
Visiting Assistant Professor of Philosophy
206 Hascall Hall
P: 315-228-6002
bsommerville@colgate.edu

Marilyn Thie
Professor of Philosophy and Religion and Women’s Studies, Emerita
mthie@colgate.edu

Maura Tumulty
Associate Professor of Philosophy; Chair, Faculty Development Council
111 Hascall Hall
P: 315-228-6461
mtumulty@colgate.edu

Ed Witherspoon
Associate Professor of Philosophy; Chair, Department of Philosophy
205 Hascall Hall
P: 315-228-7794
ewitherspoon@colgate.edu