Faculty and Staff - Department of History - Colgate University Skip Navigation

Faculty and Staff - History

Our faculty and staff are enthusiastic and accessible. Please reach out with any questions or interests you have in the history department!
deptphotoF17_opt
Back Row L to R: Tsega Etefa, Graham Hodges, Robert Nemes, Raymond Douglas, Andrew Rotter, Xan Karn, Jill Harsin, Monica Mercado, Brian Moore. Front Row L to R: Antonio Barrera, Heather Roller, Dan Bouk, Alan Cooper.
Nemes

Robert Nemes
Chair, Department of History
Professor of History
Faculty Director, Alumni Memorial Scholars Program

  • Modern Central and East European history, urban history, nationalism, and commodities

313 Alumni Hall
P: 315-228-7078
rnemes@colgate.edu
Fall 2018: HIST 102A
F18 Office Hours: TBD

Conway
Erin Conway
Department Administrative Assistant
  • History pre-registration
  • Coordination of department events
  • Coordination of daily operations of the department

330 Alumni Hall
P: 315-228-7511
econway@colgate.edu
history@colgate.edu
Summer Hours: M-F 9-5pm, Lunch 12-1pm
Pete-Banner-Haley
Pete Banner-Haley

Professor of History and Africana & Latin American Studies

  • African American history
  • 20th century US history
  • 19th- and 20th-century social and cultural history
320 Alumni Hall
P: 315-228-7510
cbannerhaley@colgate.edu
Fall 2018: HIST 199A, HIST 218A, HIST 318A
F18 Office Hours: TBD  

barrera

Antonio Barrera
Associate Professor of History

  • Atlantic world history
  • Early modern Spanish history
  • Early modern European history
  • 16th-century science in Spain and America

308 Alumni Hall
P: 315-228-7549
abarrera@colgate.edu 
Fall 2018: HIST 209A, Core 152B
F18 Office Hours: TBD

bouk

Dan Bouk
Associate Professor of History
Associate Professor of University Studies and Chair, Core 152  Studies

  • U.S. Intellectual and Cultural History
  • History of Knowledge and Knowing (Science, Medicine, and Environment)
  • History of Capitalism
314 Alumni Hall
P: 315-228-6166
dbouk@colgate.edu
Fall 2018: HIST 306A, Core 152C
F18 Office Hours: TBD

Alan_opt

Alan Cooper
Associate Professor of History

  • Medieval European History
  • Modern Britain
  • England 11th and 12th centuries
  • The intersection of legal and cultural history
  • Power and oppression
323 Alumni Hall
P: 315-228-7159
acooper@colgate.edu 
Fall 2018: on leave 

Douglas

Ray Douglas
Russell Colgate Distinguished University Professor of History

  • 20th-century Europe
319 Alumni Hall
P: 315-228-7073
rdouglas@colgate.edu 
Fall 2018: HIST 271A, HIST 350A, 400A
F18 Office Hours: TBD  

Etefa

Tsega Etefa
Associate Professor of History
Coordinator, African Studies Concentration in the Africana and Latin American Studies Program

  • African history and culture
316 Alumni Hall
P: 315-228-7515
tetefa@colgate.edu 
Fall 2018: HIST106/ALST282 AX, Core 173C, HIST 385A
F18 Office Hours: TBD

harsin

Jill Harsin
Professor of History

  • 19th-century France and French Revolution
  • Modern Europe, France and the French Revolution, and women's history

310 Alumni Hall
P: 315-228-7518
jharsin@colgate.edu
Fall 2018: HIST 233A, FSEM TBD
F18 Office Hours: TBD

graham-hodges

Graham Hodges
George Dorland Langdon Jr. Professor of History and Africana & Latin American Studies 

  • Colonial and revolutionary American history
  • Social history
  • Labor and urban America
  • New York City history
  • Asian American history

321 Alumni Hall
P: 315-228-7517
ghodges@colgate.edu
Fall 2018: HIST 103A, 203A
F18 Office Hours: TBD  

Hull

Jennifer Hull
Visiting Assistant Professor of History
Bicentennial Research Fellow
Bicentennial Committee Member
 
- Colgate History
- U.S. social and cultural history (long 19th century)
- African American history
- New York City history
- History of women and gender

328 Alumni Hall
P: 315-228-5702
jhull@colgate.edu
F18: Bicentennial Research

Karn
Xan Karn
Associate Professor of History, 
Director, Peace & Conflict Studies Program
- Modern European history (political, cultural, and intellectual)
- Historical justice and reconciliation

327 Alumni Hall
P: 315-228-7514
akarn@colgate.edu
Fall 2018: HIST 300A
F18 Office Hours: TBD 
noor-khan

Noor Khan
Associate Professor in History and Middle Eastern and Islamic Studies
 
- National and transnational identity in Egypt and the Arab world
- Political and social violence in the modern Middle East and South Asia
- Memory and identity in the Partition of India and Palestine
- Islam and identity in the twentieth century 

325 Alumni Hall
P: 315-228-7556
nikhan@colgate.edu
Fall 2018: HIST 400B
F18 Office Hours: TBD  

mercado

Monica Mercado
Assistant Professor of History
 
- U.S. women's and gender history (colonial era to the present)
- History of sexuality; religion in American culture
- Childhood/girlhood studies
- American Catholic studies
- Museum studies, archives, and public/digital history.

318 Alumni Hall
P: 315-228-7516
mmercado@colgate.edu
Fall 2018: HIST 199B, 211A
F18 Office Hours: TBD

Staff Avatar

David Robinson
Robert H.N. Ho Professor in Asian Studies
Professor of History

  • Early-modern Chinese, Korean, Japanese history

315 Alumni Hall
P: 315-228-7512
drobinson@colgate.edu
Fall 2018: HIST 265A, 370A
F18 Office Hours: TBD 

Staff Avatar

Tristan Tomlinson
Lecturer

  • 18th-Century Britain
  • Atlantic World
  • Population and governance
  • Health and laboring populations

203 Lathrop Hall
P: 315-228-5934
ttomlinson@colgate.edu
Fall 2018: HIST 210A, Core 151S
F18 Office Hours: TBD

Andy-Rotter
Andy Rotter
Charles A. Dana Professor of History and Peace and Conflict Studies
  • U.S. diplomatic history
  • Recent U.S. history
  • The Vietnam War
  • U.S.-Asia relations
  • Cold War
  • History of the senses
319 Alumni Hall
P: 315-228-7513
arotter@colgate.edu
Fall 2018: PCON 479B
F18 Office Hours: TBD
stevens

Kira Stevens
Professor of History and Russian and Eurasian Studies

  • Russia and USSR: late medieval and early modern Europe
  • Women in Eastern Europe and USSR
  • Indigenous peoples of Siberia
  • Early modern Russia: popular culture, social change, banditry; Military history

307 Alumni Hall
P: 315-228-7542
kstevens@colgate.edu
Fall 2018: on leave

heather-roller

Heather Roller
Associate Professor of History

  • Amazonia and Brazil: Ethnohistory, indigenous peoples under colonial rule, autonomous indigenous groups, mobility and migration, borderlands, and environmental history

322 Alumni Hall
P: 315-228-7563
hroller@colgate.edu
Fall 2018: HIST 399A
F18 Office Hours: TBD

Moore

Brian Moore
John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Professor of History and Africana & Latin American Studies
Director of the Africana & Latin American Studies Program

  • Caribbean history, culture and race relations
  • History of sport in the Caribbean
  • Caribbean politics and governance

216 Alumni Hall
P: 315-228-7260
blmoore@colgate.edu
Fall 2018: on leave  

Emeritus

Dick Frost
Professor of History, Emeritus  
- Professor of History 1966-96
rfrost@colgate.edu 


Jim Berg
Professor of History, Emeritus  
- Africa, India, and the United Kingdom.

 
Faye Dudden
Charles A. Dana Professor of History, Emerita 
- U.S. women's history, 19th century U.S. social and cultural history, Civil War and Reconstruction, reform movements, gender and popular culture
fdudden@colgate.edu