Living Writers Schedule - Fall 2013 - English Department Skip Navigation

Living Writers Schedule - Fall 2013

Students, faculty, staff, alumni, and parents participated in this special program that tapped into the Living Writers course created 30 years ago by Professor Frederick Busch.
This course benefits not only the undergraduates who participate but the many people from the campus community and beyond who meet the visiting authors in person or through live webcasts of their public readings. Read recent stories about the course:

Authors

George Saunders
September 9 / 8 p.m.
Author George Saunders will take part in a live webcast from campus. He will answer questions about Tenth of December, his latest collection of short stories.

September 10 / 4:30 p.m.
Attend in person or stream online as Saunders reads from his latest work at Memorial Chapel. 

Saunders' appearance is part of the Colgate Reads initiative, which is open to all LW Online participants.
Gary Shteyngart
Thursday, September 19 - 4:20 p.m.
Gary Shteyngart reads in Persson Auditorium
Deborah Treisman
Thursday, September 26 - 4:30 p.m.
Deborah Treisman reads in Persson Auditorium
Zadie Smith
Wednesday, October 2 - 8 p.m.
Join Jane and Jennifer for a call-in book discussion about NW by Zadie Smith. In-studio guest: Kezia Page, associate professor of English.

Thursday, October 3 - 4:30 p.m. 
Zadie Smith reads in Love Auditorium
Julie Otsuka
Thursday, October 10 - 4:30 p.m. 
Julie Otsuka reads in Persson Auditorium
Katherine Boo
Wednesday, October 23 - 8 p.m.
Join Jennifer and Jane for a call-in book discussion about Behind the Beautiful Forevers:  Life, Death, and Hope in a Mumbai Undercity by Katherine Boo. In-studio guest: Katherine Boo

Thursday, October 24 - 4:30 p.m. 
Katherine Boo reads in Love Auditorium
Peter Carey
Thursday, October 31 - 4:30 p.m. 
Peter Carey reads in Love Auditorium
Richard Rodriguez
Wednesday, November 6 - 8 p.m.  
Join Jane and Jennifer for a call-in book discussion about Darling: A Spiritual Autobiography by Richard Rodriguez. 
In-studio guest: Richard Rodriguez 

Thursday, November 7 - 4:30 p.m.
Richard Rodriguez reads in Love Auditorium
Kay Ryan
Wednesday, November 13 - 8 p.m.
Join Jennifer and Jane for a call-in book discussion about The Best of It: New and Selected Poems by Kay Ryan. Special guest: Jules Gibbs, visiting assistant professor of English and creative writing at Hamilton College.

Thursday, November 14 - 4:30 p.m.
Kay Ryan reads in Love Auditorium
Chinelo Okparanta
Thursday, December 5 - 4:30 p.m.
Chinelo Okparanta reads in Persson Auditorium