About the Ho Tung Visualization Lab Skip Navigation

About the Visualization Lab

A digital theater and planetarium for immersive learning and research experiences

Location and Access

The lab is a handicap-accessible facility on the Colgate University. It is located on the fourth floor of the Robert H.N. Ho Science Center, at the top of the main stairwell.

Quick Facts

Dome diameter: 10 meters
Capacity: 55 seats
System: Evans and Sutherland: Digistar 5
Opened: 2007

A Gift of Robert H.N. Ho '56

Robert Ho accepts a painting at the dedication of the Ho Science CenterThe Ho Tung Visualization Laboratory was a special gift to Colgate from Robert H.N. Ho '56 in memory of his grandfather Sir Robert Ho Tung.

Knighted twice by King George V and Queen Elizabeth II, Sir Robert Ho Tung was active as a businessman and philanthropist in the British Crown Colony of Hong Kong. At the September 15, 2007 dedication ceremony for the visualization lab, Mr. Ho quoted a Chinese proverb: "huh shwei, suh yuan"-"Drink water: consider source."

May those who discover new frontiers in this laboratory consider how they can model Sir Robert Ho Tung and Robert H.N. Ho's inspiring words.
Audience watches a show in the Ho Tung Visualization Lab

Contact Information

Ho Tung Visualization Lab
Colgate University
13 Oak Drive
Hamilton, NY 13346
Phone: 315-228-6125
vislab@colgate.edu
Joe Eakin 
Technical Director and Designer of the Ho Tung Visualization Lab 
Phone: 315-228-6125
Fax: 315-228-6020
jeakin@colgate.edu
Kiko Galvez 
Program Coordinator
Phone: 315-228-7205
Fax: 315-228-6020
egalvez@colgate.edu

Visualization Lab Steering Committee
Name Department E-mail
Rich April Geology rapril@colgate.edu
Anthony F. Aveni Physics and Astronomy, Anthropology, Native American Studies aaveni@colgate.edu
Thomas Balonek Physics and Astronomy tbalonek@colgate.edu
Jeff Bary Physics and Astronomy jbary@colgate.edu
Kenneth Belanger Biology kbelanger@colgate.edu
Adam Burnett Geography aburnett@colgate.edu
Robert Garland Classics rgarland@colgate.edu
Kiko Galvez Physics and Astronomy egalvez@colgate.edu
Damhnait McHugh Division of Natural Sciences and Mathematics, Biology dmchugh@colgate.edu
Jeff Nugent Information Technology jnugent@colgate.edu
Bruce Selleck Geology bselleck@colgate.edu
Wenhua Shi Art and Art History wshi@colgate.edu